Matt Shem Named Recipient Of The Mcavoy Award

Matt Shem Named Recipient Of The Mcavoy Award

BAY CITY, Mich. -- Northern Michigan University seniordefensive back Matthew Shem has been named recipient of the 2005 Great Lakes IntercollegiateAthletic Conference (GLIAC) Jack H. McAvoy Award as announced by CommissionerTom Brown. The award is presented annually to the GLIAC football player whobest combines outstanding character and leadership on the field, in theclassroom, and in the community.

A Massillon, Ohio (Washington) native, Shem has earned a 3.63 grade point average (4.0 scale) whilemajoring in construction management. He has been named to the GLIACAll-Academic football team in each of the four years he was eligible and hisG.P.A. ranks among the highest of Northern Michigan student-athletes.

Off the field, Shem has beena strong influence in the Marquette (Mich.) community. He has served as avolunteer for many community projects, including the Special Olympics, NMUYouth Football, NCAA Youth Day, St. Jude Childrenâ€Â™s Hospital Telethon,Thanksgiving Meal-on-Wheels, the Salvation Army and Goodwill.

A four-year starter andletterwinner for the Wildcat defense, Shem was also a force on the field. Heplayed in 38 games in four seasons, tallying 250 tackles, five quarterbacksacks, and four interceptions. This past season he recorded 41 solo tackles, 31assisted tackles, four tackles-for-loss, two sacks, and intercepted one pass.

â€ÂœThis award recognizes theaccomplishments of our well rounded student-athletes,â€Â stated CommissionerBrown. â€ÂœThe McAvoy Award is not just given on the basis of athletic ability,but is given to a student-athlete who has performed well in the classroom andhas a strong sense of community involvement. Matthew Shem is a fine example ofthe quality student-athletes we have in the GLIAC.â€Â

Shem becomes the secondNorthern Michigan student-athlete honored with the McAvoy Award, joining formerteammate Josh Sherko who shared the award in 2003 with Scott Stuible of Northwood University. The Award is named for former Hillsdale College director of athleticsand head football coach, Jack McAvoy, who was instrumental in the founding theMidwest Intercollegiate Football Conference (MIFC), now known as the GLIAC.


Jack H. McAvoy Award Winners

2005  Ã‚  Matthew Shem, Northern Michigan

2004  Ã‚  NeilBaumgartner, Saginaw Valley State

2003  Ã‚  Josh Sherko, Northern Michigan

ScottStuible, Northwood

2002  Ã‚  JasonBattershell, Saginaw Valley State

2001  Ã‚  ChrisVolz, Indianapolis

2000  Ã‚  Alex Kowalski, MichiganTech

1999  Ã‚  Mo Harris, Ferris State

1998  Ã‚  Jeff Fox, Grand Valley State

1997  Ã‚  Matt Fishburn, Wayne State

Eric Tree, Michigan Tech

1996  Ã‚  ChrisPulliams, Ferris State