Kaunisto Named to CCHA Scholar-Athlete Team

Kaunisto Named to CCHA Scholar-Athlete Team

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. – Eleven outstanding student-athletes have been designated as their team's 2012-13 Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  The CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be chosen from the group of nominees with the winner announced at the 2013 CCHA Awards on Friday, March 22.   

2012-13 CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Nominees

Name, Cl, Pos., Team, Major

Adam Henderson, Sr., F, Alaska, Master's Business Administration

Ryan Carpenter, So., F, Bowling Green, Accounting

Jason Binkley, So., D, Ferris State, Business Administration

Kevin Kapalka, Jr., G, Lake Superior, Finance and Economics

Steven Spinell, Sr., D, Miami, Finance

Luke Moffatt, Jr., F, Michigan, Business

Greg Wolfe, Jr., F, Michigan State, Supply Chain Management

Kory Kaunisto, Sr., F, Northern Michigan, Finance

Peter Schneider, So., F, Notre Dame, Economics/Business

Max McCormick, So., F, Ohio State, Finance

Chase Balisy, Jr., F, Western Michigan, Finance

The faculty athletic representative at each school, in consultation with the head coach, selected the institution's Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  Each school's Scholar-Athlete of the Year serves as the school's nominee for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 through the fall term of the selection year to be eligible for the CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, which is selected by the 11 faculty athletic representatives.  Voting is based on a system that awards five points for a first-place vote, three points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote.

The 2013 CCHA Awards will be held on Friday, March 22 at the Fox Theatre in Detroit.  The event is open to the public and tickets are $25.  The evening begins with a social hour at 5:30 p.m., followed by the Awards Show at 7:35. Tickets may be purchased at the door or by calling the CCHA office at (248) 888-0600.

The 2013 CCHA Championship is March 23-24 at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit.  Visit CCHA.com for tickets and more information.

Previous CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Winners

        2011-12 - Chad Billins, SR, D, Ferris State

        2010-11 - Carter Camper, SR, F, Miami

        2009-10 - Dion Knelsen, SR, F, Alaska

        2008-09 - Jordan Pearce, SR, G, Notre Dame

        2007-08 - Jeff Lerg, JR, G, Michigan State

        2006-07 - Michael Eickman, SR, D, Nebraska-Omaha

        2005-06 - Michael Eickman, JR, D, Nebraska-Omaha

        2004-05 - Cory McLean, SR, F, Notre Dame

Prior to the 2004-05 season, the conference selected an All-Academic Team.

# # # NMU # # #