47 National Champions

268 All-America Awards

Men Remain in Second After Day Two of GLIAC Championships

Men Remain in Second After Day Two of GLIAC Championships

JENISON, Mich. – Northern Michigan University's Men's Swimming and Diving team continues in second place after day two of the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championships. 

The Wildcats achieved third place in both the 200-yard freestyle relay and the 400-yard medley relay. The freestyle team was composed of junior Joshua Cosgrove (Bury, United Kingdom/Bury College), sophomore Maks Kapustin (Minneapolis, Minn./Henry Sibley), freshman David Vowels (Oconomowoc, Mich.) and sophomore Lajos Budai (Kecskemet, Hungary/Bolyai Janos). They finished with a time of 1:23.92.

The medley team ended with a time of 3:22.40 and was made of junior Renars Bundzis (Riga, Latvia/Riga Secondary School), junior Arnoldo Herrera (Heredia, Costa Rica/Saint Jude), junior Esteban Gutierrez (Chihuahua, Mexico/Colojio De Buchilleres SEA) and sophomore Jonas Reinhold (Nienhagen, Germany/Holty Gymnasium-Celle).

Junior Ryan Leonard (South Whales, Australia/Toronto) achieved second place in the 400-yard individual medley with a time of 3:55.28.  Junior David Miranda (Vinaros, Spain/IES Jose Viloplane) was close behind in third at 3:59.67. Junior Janne Rooves (Khobar, Saudi Arabia/Dhahran), Herrera, freshman Drew Del Papa (Warren, Mich./Oxford Virtual Academy) and freshman Luke Delaney (Middleton, Wisc.) also racked up points for the Wildcats.

Budai placed second in the 100-yard butterfly with a finishing time of 48.68. Also contributing points for the team were Gutierrez, Cosgrove and junior Benjamin Lindberg (Skelleftea, Sweden/Belderskolan).

Reinhold swam to second in the 100-yard freestyle (1:39.03) with junior Grantas Dapkus (Kaunas, Lithuania/Kaunas Saule) taking third (1:39.68). Kapustin and Bundzis also got points for the team.

After the second day of events, the Wildcats have posted 403 points but Grand Valley State University leads the meet with 451.5 points.  Wayne State University, Saginaw Valley State University, Ashland University and Tiffin University all trail NMU.  Day three of the championships resumes Friday with the preliminary races at 10 a.m. while the finals begin at 5:30 p.m.