47 National Champions

268 All-America Awards

Swim and Dive Heads to Ohio to Start Season

Swim and Dive Heads to Ohio to Start Season

MARQUETTE, Mich. – Northern Michigan University Swim & Dive dives into the 2018-19 season this weekend with two meets. On Friday the Wildcats take on Findlay University in Findlay, Ohio at 3:30 p.m. The next day, NMU heads to Bowling Green State University to take on the Falcons and Findlay at 11 a.m. in a tri-match.




Junior Rachel Helm (Newcastle, England/Burnside College) returns to the women's team after winning her second National Championship last season. Helm captured the 200-yard backstroke by nearly a full body length. Her freshman season, she claimed the 100-yard backstroke. She also picked up four victories at the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championships.


This season will see the first four-year senior competitors on the men's side since restarting the program in 2015. NMU features 13 seniors on the men's team who joined the program as freshman and have helped build the program into a conference championship contender. Renars Bundzis (Riga, Latvia /Riga Secondary School), Joshua Cosgrove (Bury, U.K./Bury College), Kyle Flickinger (Brimley, Mich./Sault Area), Esteban Gutierrez (Chihuahua, Mexico/Colojio De Buchilleres SEA), Baris Kancoglu (Ankara, Turkey/Ted Ankara Private), Ryan Leonard (South Wales, Australia/Toronto), Benjamin Lindberg (Skelleftea, Sweden/Belderskolan), Janne Roovers (Khobar, Saudi Arabia/Dhahran) and Nathan Rotundo (Marquette, Mich.) join Dapkus, Herrera, Miranda, and Moffitt in looking to lead the men's team to their first GLIAC Championship this year.


In addition to Foucault, Becca Arakelian (Livonia, Mich./Livonia Stevenson), Carolina Artacho (Sao Paulo, Brazil/Paralelo), Emily Bell (London, England/Mill Hill), Samantha Dickie (Canton, Mich./Mercy), Regan Kilburn (Muscatine, Iowa/Muscatine), Mackenzie Mentel (Missoula, Mont. / Hellgate), Angela Probstfeld (White Lake, Mich/Lakeland), Savanna Saunders (Manchester, England/Bridgewater), Dana Stroven (Howell, Mich. / Hartland) and Taylor Susa (Buffalo, Minn.) who each enter their senior season on the women's side and will look to guide the team after a third place finish at the GLIAC Championships last year.


Eight new freshman joined the women's team while the men's team features seven new faces.  Brianna Arnold (Black Creek, Wis./Appleton North), Mary Grossman (Goshen, Ind./Northridge), Mallory Irelan (Owosso, Mich./Owosso), Lucy Londergon (Minooka, Ill./Minooka), Emma Love (Louisville, Ky./Floyd Central), Valerie Patterson (Wyoming, Minn./Forest Lake), Riyah Rudeen (Rothschild, Wis. / D.C. Everest) and Cassandra Willenbring (Woodbury, Minn./St. Croix Preparatory Academy) join the women's team. Henry Bauer (Howell, Mich./Howell), Lukas Bauer (Redwood City, Calif./Ocean Grove Charter), Jon Busse (Stillwater, Minn.), Grant Combs (Clinton Township, Mich./International Academy of Macomb), Conor Graydon (Keller, Texas), Sam Konigsberg (Ann Arbor, Mich./Skyline), and Levi Lewis (Little Rock, Ark./Little Rock Central) came to the men's team.  All 15 will look to make an impact during their rookie season. 


Thi's year's squad features one diver on the men's team and six on the women's team.  Flickinger serves as the lone men's diver this year after appearing in the NCAA Diving Qualifying Meet last season.  On the women's side, Probstfeld returns after missing out on the NCAA Championships due to injury and is joined by junior Jamie Kimble (Prior Lake, Minn.), who was named an Honorary All-American last season.

Joining Probstfeld and Kimble on the women's team are senior Mackenzie Mentel (Missoula, Mont./Hellgate), junior Lauren Baer (Citrus Heights, Calif.), and freshmen Mary Grossman (Goshen, Ind./Northridge) and Valerie Patterson (Wyoming, Minn./Forest Lake)